THE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

COUNCIL

The following is the non-restricted matter dealt with by the Council in circulation in August 2024.

The Council APPROVED, on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee, that the following be appointed/reappointed to the respective Committees/Panel for the period August 15, 2024 to August 14, 2027, unless otherwise specified:

- (a) Professor Henry H.L. CHAN as a member of the Committee on Health, Safety and Well-Being under the category "A member of the Council, appointed by the Council" (reappointment); and as a member of the Human Resource Policy Committee under the category "Three members who are not employees or students of the University, appointed by the Council" for the period November 9, 2024 to November 8, 2027 (reappointment);
- (b) Professor Zhiwu CHEN as a member of the Human Resource Policy Committee under the category "One academic member of the Council, appointed by the Council" (reappointment);
- (c) Professor S.P. CHOW as a member of the Advisory Committee on Donations under the category "A lay member from the Council appointed by the Council" for the period August 15, 2024 to August 14, 2026; and a member of the Honorary Degrees Committee under the category "Two members of the Council, appointed by the Council, who are members of the Council under paragraph 1(a), (b), (c) or (e) of Statute XVIII, and of whom at least one is a graduate";
- Professor I. Grenville CROSS as Chairperson of the Discrimination
 Complaints Committee under the category "A Chairperson who shall be a lay member of the Council, appointed by the Council for a period of two years" for the period August 15, 2024 to August 14, 2026 (reappointment);
- (e) Mr. Andrew H.C. FUNG as a member of the Finance Committee under the category "Four members who are not employees or students of the University, of whom at least one shall be a member of the Council, appointed by the Council" (reappointment);
- (f) Mr. David P.W. LAU and Ms. Elizabeth LAW as members of the Audit Committee under the category "Five members, appointed by the Council, who are not members of the Finance Committee (or any of its subcommittees) or responsible for the day-to-day management of the University";
- (g) Mr. Daryl W.K. NG as a member of the Information Technology Policy Committee under the category "Two members who are Council members and not employees or students of the University, appointed by the Council (to provide internal expertise in corporate IT governance, including the information management and information security aspects)" (reappointment);

- (h) Mr. Simon PEH as a member of the Campus Development and Planning Committee under the category "Five members who are not employees or students of the University, appointed by the Council";
- Dr. Patrick S.C. POON as a member of the Committee on Honorary University Fellows under the category "Two members who are not employees or students of the University, at least one of whom shall be a graduate of the University and at least one of whom shall be a member of the Council, appointed by the Council"; and
- (j) the following as members of the Staff Grievances Panel under the category
 "Other members appointed by the Council, at least one of them shall be a member of the Council":

Professor Frank F. CHAN Mr. Ronnie K.Y. CHENG (reappointment) Professor Stephen W.K. CHENG Professor Hualing FU Professor Tatia M.C. LEE The Hon. Jimmy W.K. NG

September 2024