## THE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

## COUNCIL

The following is the non-restricted matter dealt with by the Council in circulation in February 2025.

The Council APPROVED, on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee, that the following be appointed/reappointed to the Council and the respective Committees/Panels for the period February 11, 2025 to February 10, 2028, unless otherwise specified:

- (a) Ms. Wendy GAN Kim See as a member of the Council under the category "Six persons, not being students or employees of the University, appointed by the Council" for the period February 13, 2025 to February 12, 2028;
- (b) Mr. Fred LAM Tin Fuk as a member of the Council under the category "Six persons, not being students or employees of the University, appointed by the Council"; and Chairman of the Human Resource Policy Committee under the category "A lay member of the Council, appointed by the Council (Chairman)";
- (c) Dr. Patrick POON Sun Cheong as Chairperson of the Advisory Committee on Donations under the category "A lay member from the HKU Foundation's Board of Directors, nominated by the Chairperson of the HKU Foundation and appointed by the Council (Chairperson)" for the period February 11, 2025 to February 10, 2027;
- (d) the following as members of the Campus Development and Planning Committee under the category "Five members who are not employees or students of the University, appointed by the Council":

Professor Frank CHAN Fan (for the period April 8, 2025 to April 7, 2028)

- Mr. Elton CHAN Ho Yin
- Mr. Andrew FUNG Hau Chung (for the period April 8, 2025 to April 7, 2028) (reappointment)
- (e) Mr. Peter WONG Tung Shun as a member of the Court Life Membership Committee under the category "One lay member of the Council, appointed by the Council"; and a member of the Honorary Degrees Committee under the category "Two members of the Council, appointed by the Council, who are members of the Council under paragraph 1(a), (b), (c) or (e) of Statute XVIII, and of whom at least 1 is a graduate";
- (f) Professor Simon YOUNG Ngai Man as a member of the Discrimination Complaints Committee under the category "A staff member, appointed by the Council for a period of two years" for the period February 11, 2025 to February 10, 2027 (reappointment);
- (g) Mr. David LAU Pak Wai as a member of the Election Complaint Committee under the category "Two members from the Council, at least one being a lay member of the Council, appointed by the Council" for the period April 8, 2025 to April 7, 2028 (reappointment);

(h) the following as members of the Election Complaint Committee under the category "Two members of the Senate, appointed by the Council":

Professor Rina HUI Yee Man Professor Thomas Scott VEITCH

(i) the following as members of the Election Complaint Committee under the category "Two lay members from the Court, appointed by the Council":

Mrs. Jennifer CHENG (reappointment) Mr. KUOK Khoon Hua

- (j) Dr. Samuel YUNG Wing Ki as a member of the Finance Committee under the category "Four members who are not employees or students of the University, of whom at least one shall be a member of the Council, appointed by the Council";
- (k) Professor William HAYWARD as Chairman of the Grievances Panel for Students under the category "A member of staff of one of the UGC-funded institutions other than the University of Hong Kong, appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the Senate (Chairman)";
- (1) the following as members of the Grievances Panel for Students under the category "One member from each Faculty appointed by the Council on the nomination of the Board of the Faculty concerned from among its members" for the period February 11, 2025 to February 10, 2027:

Professor CHAN Kwan Nok (Social Sciences)
Professor Lennon CHOY Hung Tat (Architecture)
Professor GOO Say Hak (Law) (reappointment)
Professor KONG Pak Hin (Education) (reappointment)
Professor LAM Kwok Fai (Science) (reappointment)
Professor Olivia LEUNG Shek Ling (Business and Economics) (reappointment)
Professor Alastair Richard MCCLURE (Arts)
Professor TANG Chuyang (Engineering) (reappointment)
Professor Mihai TARCE (Dentistry)
Professor Kelvin WANG Man Ping (Medicine)

(m) the following as members of the Committee on Health, Safety and Well-Being under the category "One member each from the Academic Staff Association, the University of Hong Kong Staff Association, the University of Hong Kong Employees Union, nominated by the respective staff associations and appointed by the Council":

> Mr. Franky CHOI Kam Lung Dr. Albert YEUNG Tak Chung

(n) Mr. Vincent CHEUNG Sai Sing as a member of the Committee on Honorary University Fellows under the category "Two members who are not employees or students of the University, at least one of whom shall be a graduate of the University and at least one of whom shall be a member of the Council, appointed by the Council"; and (o) Mr. Wilfred WONG Kam Pui as a member of the Human Resource Policy Committee under the category "Three members who are not employees or students of the University, appointed by the Council"; and Chairman of the Staff Grievances Panel under the category "A Chairman, appointed by the Council, who shall be a member of the Council but who is not an appointee of the University".

March 2025